Edit Content
Click on the Edit Content button to edit/add the content.

French Development Agency (AFD)

Development Organization

Cooperation Service

Implementing Partner

1 January 2019 to 

Project Timeline


Project Budget

Higher Learning Institutions 

Project target


  • Chuka University

  • Dedan Kimathi University of Technology

  • Egerton University

  • University of Embu

  • Jaramogi Oginga Odinga University of Science and Technology

  • Jomo Kenytta University of Agriculture and Technology

  • Karatina University

  • Kibabii University

  • Kirinyaga University

  • Kisii University

  • Laikipia University

  • Kenyatta University

  • Masai Mara University

  • Machakos University

  • Masinde Muliro University

  • Meru University of Science and Technology

  • Moi University

  • Multimedia University of Kenya

  • Murang’a University of Technology

  • Pwani University

  • Rongo University

  • South Eastern Kenya University

  • Taita Taveta University

  • Technical University of Kenya

  • Technical University of Mombasa

  • The Co-operative University of Kenya

  • University of Eldoret

  • University of Kabianga

  • University of Nairobi

  • Alupe University College

  • Garissa University College

  • Kaimosi Friends University College

  • Tom Mboya University College

  • Turkana University College


Perrine Giraud

High Education Program Officer

French Development Agency

E: giraudp@afd.fr

Higher Education Credit Line 

Support to Ministry of Education Higher Education expansion needs with the involvement of commercial banks. AFD is setting-up a concessional credit line to Kenyan commercial banks to support universities infrastructure investments. The eligible projects to this credit line will be infrastructure investments – such as campus, laboratories, equipment, lecture hall, hospitals- in priority academic domains where workforce development is the most needed according to Vision 2030 and private sector representatives.

A Steering Committee (SC) chaired by MOEST and composed of representative from CUE, NACOSTI and National Treasury (NT) will be in charge of technical and scientific assessment of the projects proposed by the universities, based on transparent eligibility criteria and clear evaluation matrix



Key Focus Areas: 

  • Science

  • Technology and Innovation

  • Agriculture

  • Energy

  • Mining

  • Medicine and Health Sciences

  • Construction


x  Powerful Protection for WordPress, from Shield Security
This Site Is Protected By
Shield Security